Skip to main content
Skip to Content

Marty Graham Re-Elected to Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board

TEMPLE — Marty H. Graham of Rocksprings was re-elected on May 1st, to serve a successive term on the Texas State Soil and Water Conservation Board (TSSWCB). 

Graham represents TSSWCB State District II, which consists of 51 counties in the western to trans-Pecos region of Texas. State District II encompasses 43 Soil and Water Conservation Districts (SWCDs). 

With its state office headquartered in Temple, the TSSWCB is the lead agency for the state of Texas in addressing agricultural and silvicultural forms of nonpoint source pollution. The TSSWCB also offers a technical assistance program for the state's 216 soil and water conservation districts for the planning, management and abatement of agricultural and silvicultural nonpoint source pollution. The TSSWCB maintains regional offices in strategic locations in the state to help carry out the agency's water quality responsibilities.

The TSSWCB board of directors consists of five elected members and two gubernatorial appointees who must be actively engaged in farming or ranching. The five TSSWCB members are chosen in a convention type election by SWCD directors in the State District in which the TSSWCB member represents. 

Graham is a former member on the board of directors of the Association of Texas Soil and Water Conservation Districts (ATSWCD). He is also a past president of the Hill Country Association of Soil and Water Conservation Districts.

Graham has been a director on the Upper Nueces-Frio Soil and Water Conservation District since 1988, where he currently serves as chairman of the District Board. 

In other areas of agricultural leadership, Graham is currently a director with the Texas Sheep and Goat Raisers Association and a director on the Mohair Council of America.

"Protecting and Enhancing Natural Resources since 1939."

Back to top